• Print Page Content

5 Special QualitiEs

Our school culture focuses on the West Eyreton Learner and our 5 Special Qualities (the 5 Es) - Excellence, Example, Empathy, Effort and Enterprise. The 5 Es guide us to make good choices in all aspects of our learning and lives. The 5E’s are integrated into our strategic plan and school vision and they encompass the 5 key competencies of the NZ Curriculum. 
A lot of what we do at school involves the 5 E’s so you’ll hear about them often. You can also read about them on our school website.

Assemblies & E Awards:
Each fortnight we hold a full school assembly on a Friday Morning from 9.00 am until 9.30 am. We encourage and welcome parents & caregivers to attend our assemblies. At assemblies, the new E focus for the following two weeks is introduced to the children and they then work on this back in class with their teacher – the E focus is planned to link into the integrated topic study that the school is currently studying.  Before each assembly, teachers acknowledge two pupils from their class to receive an E award for demonstrating the current E focus. Parents are informed, via the school newsletter, that their child will be acknowledged at the assembly so they can attend.

Prize Giving:
At the end of each year we hold a Senior and Junior Prize Giving to acknowledge the progress and achievements of all of our children - academic, sporting, cultural and personal qualities.

2015 Prize giving Speech - Principal.pdf